Translation view

A place for comments, questions and news about MundayWeb's BOINC FAQ Service.
User avatar
Ageless
Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 9:37 pm

Translation view

Post by Ageless » Mon Jun 16, 2008 6:04 pm

Hi Neil,

For version 2.0.5, would it be possible to have the translation screens next to each ohter, instead of the original on top, translation below it? Especially with large FAQs this is very difficult to do, whereas if they sat side by side, it would be a tad easier.

8)

Neil
Site Admin
Posts: 1363
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 8:35 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Translation view

Post by Neil » Sun Jun 22, 2008 3:51 pm

Hi Jord,

Sounds like a top idea! Also, I'll add the ability to change the layout and to show the bbCode or the rendered HTML.

Cheers,

Neil.

Neil
Site Admin
Posts: 1363
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 8:35 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Translation view

Post by Neil » Sun Jun 22, 2008 6:56 pm

Hi Jord,

I have added the features - let me know what you think.

Cheers,

Neil.

User avatar
Ageless
Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 9:37 pm

Re: Translation view

Post by Ageless » Sun Jun 22, 2008 9:48 pm

Neil wrote:I have added the features - let me know what you think.
Typo alert: Switch to vertial layout = Switch to vertical layout.

Could both of the columns scroll (right and down) independently of each other?

Also, I'm not sure of this, we will have to ask the other translators, but it might be easier if the text to translate is not showing as a FAQ, but also as the "editable" text. Although it might be best if the left column is then read-only.

Neil
Site Admin
Posts: 1363
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 8:35 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Translation view

Post by Neil » Mon Jun 23, 2008 8:21 pm

Hi Jord,

I have corrected the typo.

I'll investigate the scroll bars functionality.

Did you see the "Show/Hide bbCode" link? It allows translators to view the bbCode used to create the FAQ that they are translating.

Cheers,

Neil.

Neil
Site Admin
Posts: 1363
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 8:35 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Translation view

Post by Neil » Mon Jun 23, 2008 8:38 pm

Hi again Jord,

I have added scroll bars for the FAQ that is being translated.

Is this ok?

Cheers,

Neil.

User avatar
Ageless
Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 9:37 pm

Re: Translation view

Post by Ageless » Mon Jun 23, 2008 9:13 pm

Neil wrote:I have added scroll bars for the FAQ that is being translated.

Is this ok?
Way better. Thanks.
That's making it easier for me to go translate the big FAQs into Dutch.
Did you see the "Show/Hide bbCode" link? It allows translators to view the bbCode used to create the FAQ that they are translating.
Of course I tested it on the longest FAQ out there, which means lots of scrolling before you get to the bbCode.

Pondering if it isn't better to only show the bbCode while translating. Cos as soon as you click Add FAQ, you have the preview version anyway and can check if everything looks as it should.

Can't you rip out the font colour option here and add it there? ;-)

Other grammar/typo alert: "Name, this the FAQ that you have chosen to translate."
Shouldn't there be an "is" between this and the?

User avatar
Ageless
Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 9:37 pm

Re: Translation view

Post by Ageless » Mon Jun 23, 2008 9:31 pm

Ok, I have found a problem, rather big one as well.
When saving a translation that isn't done completely, then trying to go edit it again, you can only do so from the edit option. I mean, when trying to go FAQ->Translate, it's no longer available to translate the FAQ to the language you were translating it to, since its lamguage isn't available in the drop-down list.

While if you just go edit it, there's no option to continue translating.
So translations must be done in one go, or not at all. (Or using Notepad... )

Neil
Site Admin
Posts: 1363
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 8:35 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Translation view

Post by Neil » Sun Jun 29, 2008 3:55 pm

Hi Jord,

Good one - have been working on version 2.11 and have now uploaded it to the site.

The new version will display the translation view for FAQs which were translated when you choose to "edit" them.

Hope this helps,

Neil.

mo.v
Established Member
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 7:31 pm
Location: Portsmouth UK

Re: Translation view

Post by mo.v » Sat Jul 26, 2008 12:12 pm

Neil, many thanks for all the improvements you've made to the funcionality of the translation view.

Last night I got the English FAQ I was translating from to display its BBcode. When I clicked on Display BBcode, the left-hand English FAQ I was translating from dropped way down the page out of view so the two windows were no longer side by side. When I disabled the BBcode display, the left-hand FAQ didn't realign. I had to get out of the translation page and enter it again. The display was then correct with translate-from and translate-to windows alongside each other.

When the current rush is over I'll investigate this again. I'm reporting this before I forget, but if it is indeed a bug it might be better for you not to change anything during the next week or even two.

User avatar
Ageless
Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 9:37 pm

Re: Translation view

Post by Ageless » Sat Jul 26, 2008 2:00 pm

mo.v wrote:Last night I got the English FAQ I was translating from to display its BBcode. When I clicked on Display BBcode, the left-hand English FAQ I was translating from dropped way down the page out of view so the two windows were no longer side by side. When I disabled the BBcode display, the left-hand FAQ didn't realign. I had to get out of the translation page and enter it again. The display was then correct with translate-from and translate-to windows alongside each other.
I found the same bug and had reported it already. It also happens when you have two FAQs open in different tabs and edit the other one. Upon returning to the first tab, the original text pane has dropped to the bottom of the screen. I also found that the only way around that was to save the FAQ and edit it again.

Neil
Site Admin
Posts: 1363
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 8:35 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Translation view

Post by Neil » Sun Jul 27, 2008 5:43 pm

Hi all,

I have released version 2.13 which should improve the layout slightly.

I can't repeat the "editing two FAQs" issue under Firefox 3.0.

What browser versions were you using?

Cheers,

Neil.

User avatar
Ageless
Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 9:37 pm

Re: Translation view

Post by Ageless » Sun Jul 27, 2008 9:11 pm

Neil wrote:What browser versions were you using?
Firefox 2.0.0.16 and IE7

mo.v
Established Member
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 7:31 pm
Location: Portsmouth UK

Re: Translation view

Post by mo.v » Mon Jul 28, 2008 12:32 pm

I was using IE7.

Neil
Site Admin
Posts: 1363
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 8:35 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Translation view

Post by Neil » Thu Jul 31, 2008 10:18 pm

Hi all,

I can't repeat the issue in IE7 either.

Can you let me know the exact steps you take to reproduce the error so I can debug what's going on?

Thanks for your time,

Neil.

Post Reply