Using the WII Guitar Hero III Guitar with the PC version

A place for general comments and chit-chat.
Post Reply
Neil
Site Admin
Posts: 1325
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 8:35 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Using the WII Guitar Hero III Guitar with the PC version

Post by Neil » Sun Jul 27, 2008 1:37 pm

Hi all,

If you're interested I've published a guide showing how to use the Wii Guitar Hero III Guitar with the PC version of the game.

It can be found at: http://www.mundayweb.com/progs/gh3-wii.php

Enjoy,

Neil.

deetster1
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:49 pm

Re: Using the WII Guitar Hero III Guitar with the PC version

Post by deetster1 » Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:54 pm

Hey I know this post is over 10 years old, but I was hoping someone could help me to hook up my wii guitar hero controller to my PC. When I run the GlovePIE script that is included in the post I get multiple errors that I don't know how to fix. I've been trying to get guitar hero working on my PC for months and I've gone through 2 xPlorer guitars that ended up not working, so this is my last ditch effort.

Neil
Site Admin
Posts: 1325
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 8:35 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Using the WII Guitar Hero III Guitar with the PC version

Post by Neil » Sun Aug 20, 2017 9:40 am

Hi,

What are the errors exactly?

Cheers,

Neil.

BennyPe
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2017 12:34 pm

Re: Using the WII Guitar Hero III Guitar with the PC version

Post by BennyPe » Fri Dec 01, 2017 9:45 am

Is the Wii Guitar superior to Guitars offered for PC? Neat guide nonetheless Neil.

Neil
Site Admin
Posts: 1325
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 8:35 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Using the WII Guitar Hero III Guitar with the PC version

Post by Neil » Wed Dec 06, 2017 12:42 am

Hi,
BennyPe wrote:
Fri Dec 01, 2017 9:45 am
Is the Wii Guitar superior to Guitars offered for PC? Neat guide nonetheless Neil.
Thanks for the feedback - it's good to know the guide is still of use after all these years ;-)

I have to confess I've never used the PC guitars. I only wanted to use my Wii guitar with the PC version to take advantage of the ability to add custom songs.

Cheers,

Neil.

ty2u
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 25, 2018 6:03 am

Re: Using the WII Guitar Hero III Guitar with the PC version

Post by ty2u » Fri May 25, 2018 6:10 am

Hello! First of all, thanks for making the guide! It works great, but I was hoping I could trouble you with a question regarding a problem I'm having.

Everything seems to work perfectly except for Star Power. I can't get it to activate by tilting the guitar or by pressing Select. In addition, when I run the gh3 script in GlovePIE there seems to be an error on line 12 which may be related to my issue. When I run the script, the line that's highlighted red is as follows:

debug = 'whammy=' + wiimote.Guitar.WhammyBar + ', pitch=' + RemoveUnits(Wiimote.Pitch)

And at the bottom of the window, an error message reads:

12: [internal] Access violation at address 005A5D56 in module 'GlovePIE.exe'. Read of address 00000000

Do you know what this could mean, and/or how I could fix the Star Power issue?

Thank you very much in advance!

Neil
Site Admin
Posts: 1325
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 8:35 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Using the WII Guitar Hero III Guitar with the PC version

Post by Neil » Thu May 31, 2018 11:47 pm

Hi,

I recently updated my site to include a copy of GlovePIE that I use. It can be downloaded from: https://www.mundayweb.com/html/_downloa ... PIE030.zip

I believe this should fix the GlovePIE error message.

On the Star Power front I am unsure why it is not working. I take it you are using Windows 10? I have to confess I've not tried the set-up for quite some time - the last time for me was under Windows XP.

Cheers,

Neil.

MichaelOverlock
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2018 4:37 pm

Re: Using the WII Guitar Hero III Guitar with the PC version

Post by MichaelOverlock » Wed Oct 17, 2018 7:06 pm

Neil wrote:
Sun Jul 27, 2008 1:37 pm
Hi all,

If you're interested I've published a guide showing how to use the Wii Guitar Hero III Guitar with the PC version of the game.

It can be found at: http://www.mundayweb.com/progs/gh3-wii.php

Enjoy,

Neil.
When I run the GlovePIE content that is incorporated into the post I get numerous mistakes that I don't know how to settle. I've been endeavoring to get guitar legend taking a shot at my PC for quite a long time and I've experienced 2 xPlorer guitars that wound up not working, so this is my final desperate attempt. :(

Neil
Site Admin
Posts: 1325
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 8:35 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Using the WII Guitar Hero III Guitar with the PC version

Post by Neil » Wed Oct 17, 2018 9:44 pm

Hi,

What errors are you getting?

Note: I've only tried GlovePie with Nintendo Wii Les Paul guitars.

Cheers,

Neil.

Post Reply